Part of our continuing efforts at improving quality is participation in a national initiative for public reporting of quality measures promoted by organizations including the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services and the Joint Commission on the Accreditation of HealthCare Organizations (Joint Commission).

Quality Measures, also called Core Measures, refer to specific sets of guidelines in the treatment of four of the most common and costly conditions: Acute Myocardial Infarction (Heart Attack), Heart Failure, Pneumonia and Surgical Infection. These quality measures are important because research has shown that following these guidelines leads to significantly better outcomes.

Click on links below to view our Quality Measures:
Patient Satisfaction
Heart Attack
Heart Failure
Surgical Care Improvement

Quality measures indicate how well a hospital is doing in following specific guidelines as a percentage of applicable cases and provides a comparison to the national average. It is important to remember that interpreting these results may be difficult since there are times when it may be best for a patient that a guideline is not specifically followed.

Healthcare is one of the most important services you will choose for yourself and your family. Good information helps you make informed decisions about your healthcare. In this section we report accurate and honest information about the quality of the care we provide at Our Lady of Lourdes. This information provides clear, objective data for you to compare quality measures at Our Lady of the Lake to the Joint Commission standards. By providing you with this information, we hope to help you make informed decisions about you and your family's healthcare.

The Joint Commission evaluates and accredits more than 15,000 healthcare organizations and programs in the United States. An independent, not-for-profit organization, the Joint Commission is the nation's predominant standards-setting and accrediting body in healthcare. Joint Commission accreditation is recognized nationwide as a symbol of quality that reflects an organization's commitment to meeting certain performance standards. To earn and maintain the the Joint Commission's Gold Seal of Approval™, an organization must undergo an on-site survey by a Joint Commission survey team at least every three years.